23 de agosto de 2011


The Houses of Parliament
The British Parliament is made up of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. The House of Commons has 650 Members of Parliament (MPs), who are elected directly by the people. The House of Lords has over 1 000 members, who are not elected, but are members of the nobility, bishops, judges, and people chosen by the Prime Minister. 

The Prime Minister chooses about 20 ministers to form a special advisory group called the Cabinet. Most cabinet ministers are heads of government departments. The Chancellor of the Exchequer is head of the finance department (the Treasury), and the Foreign Secretary is the minister in charge of foreign affairs.

Prime Minister, David Cameron
About every five years there is a general election, when people in each area (constituency) vote for an MP to represent them in Parliament. There are also local elections, when people vote for councillors to represent them in their city, borough or district. Everyone over the age of 18 is allowed to vote. 

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario